Here we go…

Josh may have exaggerated a bit in the previous post. The reason I want to do this is so we have something to share with baby No. 2 when he/she gets older. I always have joked I have no baby pictures of me because by the time my parents got to No. 4, they were too busy with everyone else. That is also why my sister Steph was the one that did my baby book rather than my mom ;).

Sara at 15 weeks.

I can’t begin to explain how lucky and blessed Josh and I are to be having another baby. We were so surprised with the lucky news, but not quite as surprised as we were with our little Jackson.

I felt sick on the Monday morning of June 13, but I just assumed it was still from me recovering from our friends’ wedding that was two days before. Instead, I took a pregnancy test and sure enough it read “PREGNANT.” I made Josh breakfast in bed to surprise him with the news. I don’t know which surprised him more ;).

What a difference a pregnancy can make! Jackson was a piece of cake compared to this one. I was a little tired with Jackson and maybe felt nauseous a day or two, unlike the 24-hour nausea and extreme fatigue I have had for the majority of this one. Thank goodness for summer vacation, for my good friends Shannon and Mindy, and for a husband that encourages nap time.

I am starting to feel a little better, but I have yet to go to bed past 9:30 on a school night. Getting back into the swing of things at school, having 106 volleyball players to coach and being a single mom five nights a week is going to take a little getting used to. As long as we get a healthy baby in the end, I can handle it!

Now about my cravings: My entire life I have not been too fond of bacon or tomatoes. I actually hated both. However, I now eat a BLT sandwich daily. It is funny how much a woman’s body changes during pregnancy. I wonder what else I will be eating by February.

I hope anyone that has enough time in their day to read our blog enjoys it. But more so, I hope some day our new baby boy or girl realizes that even though they will be our second miracle, we still are just as thrilled to become parents to them.

About smothersfamily

Currently pregnant with baby No. 2, Sara is in her fifth year as a sixth-grade reading and language arts teacher at Brody Middle School in Des Moines. Josh is a newspaper designer at the Gannett Des Moines Design Studio and the usual editor of this blog. Finally, Jackson is an always-on-the-go toddler who will be 2 in April.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

