Place your bets while you still can

At 38 weeks, Sara complains that there is no more room in there for the baby to move around.

Another day or so and I’m closing the pool for those of you betting on the arrival of Smothers Baby No. 2. Sara’s due date is Feb. 19, and many of our friends and family members bet on dates next week. What’s your guess? And while you’re deciding on the date, what’s your guess on the baby’s gender? The individual closest to both categories wins a prize. Seriously.

We had our 38-week checkup Wednesday and everything is going well with the pregnancy. Sara will argue, claiming that an individual who is “well” likely does not have the discomfort in her back and is probably able to sleep for more than two straight hours at a time.

When I finally climb into bed after work around 1 a.m. — I’m praying my boss follows through with a daytime position for me in Gannett’s Des Moines Design Studio in April — we chat for a bit, I laugh as the baby’s hands and feet protrude from Sara’s belly, I give my standard back rub and just like that I’m usually out. Sara tells me every morning about how many times she had to get up to pee and how long it took to fall back asleep all while I’m drooling happily on my side of the bed.

I told her that soon those sleepless nights of discomfort will be replaced by sleepless nights of breastfeeding and awaking to every peep the newborn makes while sleeping in our room for the first couple months. I feel bad because there isn’t much I can do early on when the baby is hungry. I’ll have my time, though. I’m not worried about that.

We still have no idea how Jackson is going to react when he finds out the baby we’re cuddling and passing around is permanent and not just a phase. In the meantime, Jackson and I have successfully recorded nine trick shot videos, which you can find on my Facebook page. If you’re not on Facebook, join the 21st century, please.

With so little time left before our second miracle arrives, I get nervous every time my cell phone rings. Sooner or later the voice on the other end might be Sara confirming her biggest fear: that her water broke at school in front of her students. For some reason she thinks a scene like that would scar some sixth-graders for life. Hilarious.

I’m so curious just to see what the baby looks like compared to Jackson, and to find out in the months ahead how their personalities and attitudes and nuances relate to one another.

But most of all, we’re just praying for a safe delivery and a healthy baby. I urge you to keep Sara in your thoughts and prayers for the next couple of weeks.

Our girl name is decided. Our boy name, not so much. Here’s hoping we have that settled by the time we’re headed downtown to Mercy. That’s it for this week. I’ll post an update again next week … if Sara makes it that long. // JS

About smothersfamily

Currently pregnant with baby No. 2, Sara is in her fifth year as a sixth-grade reading and language arts teacher at Brody Middle School in Des Moines. Josh is a newspaper designer at the Gannett Des Moines Design Studio and the usual editor of this blog. Finally, Jackson is an always-on-the-go toddler who will be 2 in April.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

